Election Recap

Mid-term election season is officially over. Thank you to all the Club members and volunteers who walked precincts and dropped literature. Also, thank you to all the candidates took the plunge and ran for a seat at the decision makers table. Although the national results for Dems were bleak, California and our local races fared well.

Here’s the list of ECDC-endorsed winners:

  • Governor Jerry Brown
  • Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom
  • Treasure John Chaing
  • Controller Betty Yee
  • Attorney General Kamala Harris
  • Secretary of State Alex Padilla
  • Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
  • Congressional District 11 Mark DeSaulnier
  • Board of Equalization Fiona Ma
  • Assembly District 15 Tony Thurmond
  • AC Transit At-Large Joel B. Young
  • Stege Sanitary  Al Miller and Dwight Merrill 
  • Contra Costa Community College Board John Marquez
  • El Cerrito City Council Janet Ableson and Gabe Quinto
  • Kensington PPCSD Board Len Welsh
  • Prop 47-Yes
  • Indian Gaming-No
  • Measure R-Yes