2014 Endorsement Forums – UPDATED

UPDATED – August 15, 2014 

With the candidates’ filing period now closed, there are a few updates. The Club will consider endorsing candidates in two contested races–AC Transit  Board and El Cerrito City Council–on Tuesday, Aug 26 at 6:00 p.m at our regular club meeting in the Presbyterian Church on Ashbury.  See below for an updated candidate list for these and all other races.

The final ECDC endorsement schedule is as follows.

Endorsement Forum I 

El Cerrito High School cafeteria at 1 PM on August 23. Doors open at 12:00 and candidates and visitors are encouraged to arrive early.

SESSION I (1:00 – 3:30 PM)

West Contra Costa Unified School District (3 seats)

      • Elizabeth (Liz) Block
      • Chester R. Stevens
      • Raquel Donoso
      • Madeline Kronenberg
      • Elaine Merriweather
      • Otheree Christian
      • Mister Phillips
      • Peter Nicholas Chau
      • Valerie Cuevas
      • Ayana Kirkland Young

Stege Sanitary (2 seats)

      • Dwight Merrill
      • Alan Miller
      • Jay Z. James
      • Joshua M. Dickinson

West Contra Costa Healthcare (3 seats)

      • Irma L. Anderson
      • Beverly Eve Wallace
      • Nancy Casazzar
      • Marilynne L. Mellander

 SESSION II (3:30 – 5:00 PM)

Assembly District 15 (1 seat)

      • Elizabeth Echols
      • Tony Thurmond

 Contra Costa Community College Board (1 seat)

      • Cheryl Sudduth
      • John E. Marquez

 City of El Cerrito Sales Tax Measure 

Endorsement Forum II (Presbyterian Church at 6 PM on August 26):

El Cerrito City Council (2 seats)

      • Janet Abelson
      • Nicholas Arzio
      • Gabriel Quinto

AC Transit Board (1 seat)

      • Dollene C. Jones
      • Adrienne C. Andrews
      • Joel B. Young

 Contra Costa County Central Committee

      • Cecilia Valdez

Endorsement Forum III (Presbyterian Church at 6 PM on September 23):

The Club will hold an endorsement forum for the following Kensington races and candidates at the regular Club meeting on September 23. Kensington members should make sure their membership is current in order to vote in the endorsement forum. Note that the cutoff for current memberships for the September 23 meeting is August 24.

Kensington Police Protection and Community Services District (3 seats)

      • Alan (Len) Welsh
      • Steven B. Bates
      • Simon Brafman
      • Peter Conrad
      • Derek Suring
      • Kim Zvik
      • Rachelle Sherris-Watt
      • Vanessa Cordova

Kensington Fire Protection (2 seats)

      • Janice Kosel
      • Nina Harman
      • Michael Kassarjian 

The process will be the same for each forum.  For each race (listed below), we will open with short statements from each candidate, followed by a moderated Q&A from the audience, and concluding with brief (1-2 minutes) closing remarks. The Club members will then vote to endorse according to our endorsement rules. If a candidate receives 60% of the vote (voting members who are present) then they will receive the Club’s endorsement. If no candidate receives 60% of the vote, then there will be no endorsement.

In addition, we will also take a straw poll in each race of any non-members present—the results of the straw poll should not in any way be construed as a replacement or proxy for the Club’s endorsement process.

We have invited all candidates to the endorsement forums; however, the Club will only endorse Democrats.

ECDC endorsements are made in each election cycle according to our by-laws (pdf). Only members in good standing for 30 days prior to the endorsement forum may vote, and the ECDC may only endorse Democrats in any race whether partisan or non-. A candidate must be selected on 60% of the members present to gain the club’s endorsement.