Bylaw changes for Oct 20 meeting

We will need to conduct some business at the Annual Dinner. The Democratic Party of Contra Costa County, also know as the Central Committee, made changes this year to allow for each Club to have voting representation on the Central Committee. We need to change our Bylaws to include how that representation will be selected. A second change adjusts the effective date of dues paid during September of the year. Previously, new member dues paid after October 1 were applied to the following calendar year. The recommendation is for new member dues paid after September 1 be applied to the following year.

The Executive Board is requesting two changes to the Bylaws, including 1) changing the date regarding effectiveness for new dues, and 2) introducing a method for selecting representatives and alternatives to the Democratic Party of Contra Costa County (DPCCC), also known as the Central Committee.

  1. The Executive Board proposes to change the underlined word from “October” to “September” as follows:

    IV. Annual Dues: The members shall determine the amount of the annual dues at the September meeting and shall be at least $5/year. Dues may be waived by the Executive Board for good cause, such as inability to pay. Annual dues are for the calendar year. Dues must be paid by June 1st. Annual dues paid after September 1st shall cover the remainder of the calendar year and the following calendar year.

  2. The Executive Board recommends a process similar to how we select our pre-endorsement delegates (see Standing Endorsement Rules on the website). The Executive Board recommends adding a new section that reads:

    XII. Representation to the Contra Costa County Democratic Central Committee:
    ECDC is affiliated with the Contra Costa County Democratic Central Committee (DPCCC) and entitled to a voting delegate to the DPCCC. ECDC shall select a DPCCC Representative and a DPCCC Alternate to two year terms starting in January of odd numbered years, starting in January 2019. Members shall select the DPCCC Representative and DPCCC Alternate during the September meeting of even numbered years. The affirmative vote of at least 50% of the members present and voting, but not less than 5% of the membership or 10 members, whichever is greater, is necessary to select the DPCCC Representative and DPCCC Alternate. All members present at the meeting are eligible to vote. Before the vote, candidates may speak. Voting by proxy shall not be permitted. Balloting shall be by show of hands or by secret ballot at the discretion of the ECDC Executive Board. The ECDC Executive Board shall determine the process for voting administration, and may select a member or members to serve as judge(s) to monitor the fairness of the voting. Members that are already DPCCC voting member are not eligible candidates to represent ECDC. The ECDC Executive Board shall appoint members to serve any unfilled delegate positions.

  3. These revisions will be considered at the October 20, 2018 Annual Dinner and General Meeting.

ECDC Endorsement Results Sep 25

24 El Cerrito Democratic Club members listened to an AC Transit candidate and discussed U.S. Senator candidates and several measures. Here are the results from September 25, 2018:

AC Transit (Up to 1) Votes Result
Dollene Jones 16 Endorsed
Joel Young 7
No Endorsement 1
Prop. 3: Issue $8.9 billion in bonds for water-related infrastructure and environmental projects Votes Result
Yes 6
No 10
No Endorsement 5 No Endorsement
Prop. 5: Revise process for homebuyers who are age 55 or older or severely disabled to transfer their tax assessments Votes Result
Yes 1
No 21 Endorsed
No Endorsement 0
Prop. 7: Authorize legislature to provide permanent daylight savings time if federal government allows Votes Result
Yes 8
No 9
No Endorsement 6 No Endorsement
Prop. 10: Allows local government to regulate rent Votes Result
Yes 12
No 8
No Endorsement 3 No Endorsement

Additionally, Club Members voted to waive noticing rules and to consider endorsement of U.S. Senator and Regional Proposition FF, East Bay Regional Park District measure to continue the existing $12/year parcel tax. Diane Feinstein was endorsed and Measure FF was supported overwhelmingly.