ECDC Endorsement Results for August 25, 2018

50 El Cerrito Democratic Club members, over 40 West Contra Costa Democratic Club members and over 15 members of the Democratic Party of Contra Costa County listened to candidates from six races including Lieutenant Governor, Assembly District 15, AC Transit, Contra Costa Community College, Contra Costa Superintendent of Schools, West Contra Costa School Board and El Cerrito City Council. Due to a scheduling issue, the endorsement for AC Transit was rescheduled to our normal monthly meeting on September 25, 2018. In March, the Club Already endorsed Lynn Mackey for CoCo Superintendent, so this was an opportunity for other organizations to hear from Lynn. We endorsed candidates in Lt. Governor , CoCo Community College, El Cerrito City Council and WCCUSD. Here are the results:

Contra Costa Cty Community College (Up to 1) Votes Result
John Marquez 34 Endorsed
No Endorsement 2
AD 15 (Up to 1) Votes Result
Buffy Wicks 25 No position
Jovanka Beckles 20 No position
No Endorsement 2
AC Transit At Large (Up to 1) Votes Result
No Endorsement NA  RESCHEDULED
Lieutenant Governor (Up to 1) Votes Result
Ed Hernandez 7
Eleni Kounalakis 33  Endorsed
No Endorsement 6
El Cerrito City Council (Up to 2) Votes Result
Gabriel Quinto 40 Endorsed
Janet Abelson 40 Endorsed
No Endorsement 0
West Contra Costa Unified School District (up to 3) Votes Result
Anthony Caro 8
Carlos Taboada 9
Consuelo Lara 29 Endorsed
Elizabeth Block 3
Madeline Kronenberg 34 Endorsed
Michael Gonzales 4
Patricio Dujan 10
Stephanie Hernandez-Jarvis 38 Endorsed
Tiffany Grimsley 5
Valerie Cuevas 13
Vanessa Anita Calloway 3
No Endorsement 2

ECDC Endorsement Results for August 28, 2018

Thirty-five El Cerrito Democratic Club members listened to candidates from the Stege Sanitary District race and considered El Cerrito Measure V and other Local, regional and State offices and Statewide ballot measures. Propositions 3, 5, 7 and 10 will be discussed at the September 25, 2018 meeting along with Candidates for AC Transit Board. Here are the results from August 28, 2018:

Stege Sanitary District

  • Al Miller 29 Endorsed (83%)
  • Dwight Merrill 28 Endorsed (80%)
  • Juliet Christian-Smith 29 Endorsed (83%)

El Cerrito Measure V, Charter City

  • Yes 29 Endorsed (83%)
  • No 2
  • No Endorsement 3

Democratic Candidates

  • Yes 32 Endorsed (91%)
  • No Endorsement 2

Democratic Candidates include:

  • Gavin Newsome, Governor
  • Alex Padilla, Secretary of State
  • Betty Yee, Treasurer
  • Fiona Ma, Controller
  • Ricardo Lara, Insurance Commissioner
  • Malia Cohen, Board of Equalization
  • Xavier Becerra, Attorney General
  • Mark DeSaulnier, U.S. Representative
  • John Gioia, Contra Costa County Supervisor

Statewide Ballot Measures passed the following positions unanimously:

  • Support: Proposition 1 – issue $4 billion in bonds for housing programs and veterans’ home loans
  • Support: Proposition 2 – Authorize $2 billion of millionaire’s tax for homelessness prevention housing
  • Support: Proposition 4 – Issue $1.5 billion in bonds for children’s hospitals
    Oppose: Proposition 6 – Repeal 2017 fuel tax and vehicle fee
  • Support: Proposition 8 – Requires dialysis clinics to issue refunds for revenue above specified amount
  • Oppose: Proposition 11 – Allow ambulance providers to require workers to remain on-call during paid breaks
  • Support: Proposition 12 – Bans sale of meat from animals confined in spaces below specified sizes

Aug 25 Endorsement Meeting Final Update

For the Aug 25 endorsement meeting, the final list of candidates considered is as follows:

    • 11AM John Marquez – Contra Costa County Community College District Board of
    • 11:15 – 12:15 Assembly 15 candidates Buffy Wicks and Jovanka Beckels
    • 12:30 – 1:00 Lt. Governor candidates Ed Hernandez and Elani Kounalakis
    • 1:00 – 1:30 Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools candidate Lynn Mackey
    • 1:30 – 2:00 AC Transit At-Large Board of Directors candidates Dollene Jones and Joel Young
    • 2:00 – 2:30 El Cerrito City Council candidates Gabe Quinto and Janet Abelson
    • 2:30 – 4:00 West County Unified School District Board of Education Candidates:
      • Anthony Caro
      • Carlos Toabada
      • Consuelo Lara
      • Elizabeth Block
      • Madeline Kronenberg
      • Michael Gonzales
      • Patricio Dujan
      • Stephanie Hernandez-Jarvis
      • Tiffany Grimsley
      • Valarie Cuevas
      • Vanessa Anita Calloway

Note that the schedule and the elections considered is unchanged from earlier published agendas. Only the list of candidates has been updated to reflect those under consideration at the meeting.